2011Awarded a Star on the Palm Springs Walk of Stars
For Literary Achievements
2009Edward D. Hoch Memorial, Golden Derringer Award
For Lifetime Achievement
2003Derringer AwardThe Mask of Peter
1999Ellery Queen Readers AwardThe Global Man
1990Ellery Queen Readers AwardDeeds of Valor
1988Ellery Queen Readers AwardThe Dakar Run
1986Ellery Queen Readers AwardScalplock
1985Ellery Queen Readers AwardAnimals
1980Edgar Allan Poe AwardHorn Man
2003Edgar Allan Poe AwardTo Live and Die in Midland, Texas
2003Barry AwardThe Mask of Peter
2002Anthony AwardTo Live and Die in Midland, Texas
2001Shamus AwardThe Cobalt Blues
1999Edgar Allan Poe AwardThe Halfway Woman
1995Shamus AwardSplit Decisions
1991Edgar Allan Poe AwardChallenge the Widow-Maker
1984Spur AwardThe Plateau
1984Edgar Allan Poe AwardPuerto Rican Blues
1983Spur AwardCuster’s Ghost
1983Edgar Allan Poe AwardAll the Heroes Are Dead
1980Edgar Allan Poe AwardZebra
1978Edgar Allan Poe AwardSix Against the Rock
The Golden Derringer AwardShort Mystery Fiction Society
The Edgar Allan Poe AwardMystery Writers of America
The Spur AwardWestern Writers of America
The Shamus AwardPrivate Eye Writers of America
The Anthony AwardWorld Mystery Convention
The Derringer AwardShort Mystery Fiction Society
The Barry AwardDeadly Pleasures Magazine